Yarn Along

On my kindle The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry.  On my hook an Attic24 Sunny Log Cabin blanket square.

This blanket was Lucy from Attic24‘s 2015 Crochet Along.  My lovely motherinlaw bought me the yarn pack as a Christmas gift last Christmas, 2015 and I excitedly started making the centre pieces for the squares by fairy light while munching Christmas chocolates before 2015 was finished.  But as we moved into this year and i started on the constant colour changing needed for the log cabin parts of the squares my enthusiasm waned. With two of the sixteen blocks completed the blanket moved into hibernation in early February and I moved onto learning socks!  After the rush of getting Christmas gifts ready I found myself without a project on the go and reluctant to start anything new.  So I’ve dusted off the bag of yarn and this is my progress on square three.  All of the colours needed for this blanket stop this from being a portable project and I quickly remembered why I put it down first time round.  But I really love the look of the finished blanket and so I will not allow it to be neglected again. I might pick up other projects between squares but I will finish this blanket in 2017!

I walked into a Waterstones book shop a few days before Christmas and there was a big display of The Essex Serpent which they had named their book of the year.  So I’m giving it a try.  The writing is beautiful and the story engaging and I am enjoying reading it.

Linking up today with Ginny and the other yarn alongers sharing what they are reading and working on.

One thought on “Yarn Along

Leave a Reply

