Yarn Along

img_6519

On my kindle The Darkest Part of The Forest by Holly Black. On my hook a wreath dweller which I am hoping will be my first published pattern!

I am in the final few chapters of The Darkest Part of The Forest and have thoroughly enjoyed the read.  I chose this book for challenge 12 of the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, to read a fantasy novel, and as a modern day faery tale it certainly fulfils that brief.  It has been a bit dark and gruesome in places and more than once I have read it while peeking between my fingers but it is brilliantly written and a gripping story.

When I first started making crochet wreaths for other people (as opposed to the 5 I had already made for myself!) I started writing my own patterns for what I term wreath dwellers to sit inside as I was struggling to find already published patterns that worked for the creatures I was imagining.

While I have made notes of each of these patterns as I have gone along none of them are currently in the public domain.  But new year, new challenges and all that jazz!  I intend to put this one here, on my blog, once I have managed to conjure it from my head into reality and with the weather grim outside today and my book almost finished I am hoping to make good progress with that in the next few days.

Linking up with Ginny and the other Yarn Alongers sharing what they are reading and working on.

 

4 thoughts on “Yarn Along

    1. That’s what I used to think! My first time I just sort of bodged three patterns that had elements I liked together 🙂 But the more I have practiced the easier have have found it comes. Don’t underestimate what you are capable of xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

