Yarn Along

img_6591

On my kindle Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence.  On my hook lots of sheep parts!

This week’s Yarn Along is all about struggle. I am struggling with both this pattern and this book.

Lady Chatterley’s Lover is my book for challenge number 16 (Read a book that has been banned or frequently challenged in your country) of Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge and I’m finding it rather slow going and a bit of an uphill battle.  However it transpires that the UK is not as big on banning books as many other countries and so there wasn’t a huge range to chose from for this challenge.  And so I plod along refusing to be beaten!

I am also finding writing this sheep pattern to be tougher than I imagined.  When I made my first sheep to go in my Moorland Wreath I sailed along happily making it up as I went along and jotting a few notes down.  As I have gone to translate those notes to a pattern I am finding that there are rows missing, inconsistencies and the notes don’t make a sheep like the one I already have. It’s all very frustrating.

Stubborn as I am I will be continuing with both endeavours until I am able to tick the book from my challenge list and write up the pattern but I am not having as much fun this week as I like to with my reading and creating.  Fingers crossed next week works out better for me!

Linking up with Ginny and the other Yarn Alongers sharing what they are reading and working on.

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along

  1. That picture for the book ‘cover’ is rather odd! I tried years ago to read LC’sL and gave up so well done for sticking with it.
    It is quite unbelievable how hard, time consuming and frustrating it is to write patterns isn’t it. How do some people write so many!?!
    I feel your pain! 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t read this book either. Not certain I will bother although I did like Women in Love, The Rainbow and Sons and Lovers. As for pattern writing, for my own consumption only I did a rose and an ivy leaf! Good luck.

    Like

  3. hayleym

    Good luck with the pattern writing – I wouldn’t know where to start! I’m the same with knitting, crochet and baking, I must have full instructions as I simply can’t “wing it!”
    Can anyone join in the reading challenge? I’m an avid reader and would relish the challenge to get away from my normal genre 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes absolutely, please do join in. Where I have mentioned the challenge above should be a link that takes you to a list of all 24 categories.

      I’m really enjoying having something to help steer my reading and have read some books that would definitely not have ended up on my kindle if I wasn’t trying to tick all the boxes so it’s been great to push me out of my reading comfort zone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

