Yarn Along

fullsizeoutput_923

On my kindle Maurice by E. M. Forster.  On my needles a big old tangly mess!

In sharp contrast to my Yarn Along image last week with beautiful, colourful flowers cascading around the screen this week there is not a lot to see but I am very proud of what there is.  This muddle will shortly be Yarny from the video game Unravel, a favourite with my children.  I am using this pattern by Alexis Layton.  Double pointed needles are my nemesis. I make my socks using teeny tiny circular needles and have slightly larger circulars for hats and of course when it comes to little figures I usually turn to crochet!

But a Yarny was requested and a Ravelry search turned up the pattern and it seemed more sensible to follow it than make my own!  The pride in the progress stems from the fact that my first attempt ended in an awful mess from my attempts to wrestle these blasted needles with their points in all directions.  Although I did throw the whole lot to the floor amongst a tirade of swearing I did then pick it back up and rather than abandon the endeavour and pick up my trusty hook I frogged it back and calmly knit a few more rows straight before reattempting to join in the round, this time with a lot more success!  At risk of jeopardising the enterprise with misplaced confidence I think I am now on the right track, I’ll be sure blog if I do pull it off!

Reading wise I do seem to have exhausted all of the categories I want to read on the Read Harder Challenge and am now choosing books that I would not usually reach for.  I am reading Maurice for challenge number 20 – read a LGBTQ+ romance novel.  While I enjoy a love story I tend to find that books shelved as romance are usually sickeningly saccharine and this was the obstacle I kept hitting while trying to choose for this challenge.  It would appear that heading 100 years into the past has helped with the sappiness and I am enjoying this book written in 1913.

Linking up with Ginny and the other Yarn Alongers sharing what they are reading and working on.

8 thoughts on “Yarn Along

  1. hayleym

    This post has made me chuckle this grey Saturday morning – having battled with dpns for many years I hunted mine out last night in an attempt to make my first knitted socks.
    Almost an hour later they were thrown to floor very much like yours surrounded in swear words and I’ve since crochet the toe of another pair. The tangled mess is sat on the sofa waiting for me to get home from work this afternoon lol
    I’m still plodding on with Turn of the Screw by Henry James – I can’t believe how quickly you craft and manage to get through books as well! 🙂 Enjoy the weekend x

    Like

    1. Oh no! I feel your pain, I hope you manage to salvage the tangle.

      I might just about be winning my dpn battle but that hasn’t stopped me from putting it down to come and check in here (any excuse really!)

      I really cannot recommend tiny circular needles for socks highly enough. I use 23cm ones from Addi and although they seem too small to work with at first they are brilliant once you get going. This toy is definitely my last venture into dpns for a while 🙂

      I hope you are having a great weekend xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

