Rhian Socks

There is something so satisfying about finishing a pair of socks.  And these socks are especially pleasing as they have turned out to be so gorgeous.  I bought The Sock Drawer book from the lovely Verity Castledine of Truly Hooked at Yarndale last year but have been too busy hooking to knit socks.  I knew that I wanted my first pair this year to be from the book though and spent a while agonising over which of the patterns to choose.

I went with Rhian because it looked to have the perfect balance of being a straightforward pattern with complex looking results and on that front it definitely delivered.  I went with a plain yarn to allow the pattern to shine and chose the Butterscotch colour way from the West Yorkshire Spinners Signature 4ply range. I used this yarn in a different colour to make my Dragonfly Socks last year and so knew it was lovely to work with and deliciously soft.

I love these socks and am so pleased that they are finished and ready to gift.

fullsizeoutput_96ffullsizeoutput_970fullsizeoutput_971fullsizeoutput_973fullsizeoutput_972fullsizeoutput_975

6 thoughts on “Rhian Socks

  1. hayleym

    As someone who has yet to knit a pair of socks (despite numerous attempts) these are a work of art! The colour really enhances the pattern and they look oh so comfy which is the main thing. I’m sure the recipient will be absolutely delighted with them – I know I would be 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      When my socks were stuck in the sin bin and I kept on struggling with them the thing that broke the barrier for me and got me going was to switch from the dreaded dpns to a tiny circular needle and use the fantastic Winwick Mum tutorial which is free on her blog x

      Like

  2. These are gorgeous! I’ve made the Arwen socks from Verity’s book and that’s another pattern that looks far more complicated than it is to knit. I’m quite sure that whoever is going to receive them is going to be over the moon with them! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

