Weekly Photo – Bird

One of the things I would like to work on in 2017 is my photography. I am joining in with Nana Cathy and Wild Daffodil’s weekly photo challenge.

This week’s one word prompt is Bird.

I was excited to see bird coming up as a prompt.  As I have sat here waiting for the photo to upload over our painfully slow internet connection the bird feeder just in my line of sight has been covered in great tits, blue tits and long tailed tits while the ever faithful resident robin has pottered about on the ground below.  This week every time my husband sits at this desk a jay with a vibrant flash of blue on it’s wing appears at the window, it disappears whenever I get my camera! From the kitchen window I have seen pied wagtails, chaffinches and a goldcrest.  There are pheasants and french partridge in and out of the woods and running all over the drive when I go anywhere in the car, the swallows have returned from their winter holidays and when heading out at dusk last week I saw a beautiful barn owl gliding over the field.

There is no shortage of birds and I love to watch them.  But I forgot wildlife photography is not my forte!  I like to take my time framing my shot and picking my angle and of course wherever I am the 3 bundles of noise, joy and sudden movements that are my offspring are never far away and so I have many a photograph of blurred wings and rapid exits and not so many lovely bird images.

fullsizeoutput_9ee

I chose a less mobile subject!  You may remember this little owl from my Mini Autumn Wreath.  Just for today it left its yarny home for a new roosting spot in the garden, I think it looks quite happy in a tree.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo – Bird

  1. Pingback: One-A-Week Photo Challenge Round Up: May | Wild Daffodil

Leave a Reply

