Spice of Life

Last summer I sat by the river in Cambridge with my lovely friend and in that casual manner that non-crafters have she asked me if I would make her a bedspread.  Of course I said yes and I refused her money, saying instead that I would have it ready for a birthday present for her this year.

There have been many times in the last few months where I have looked at the sheer scale of the blanket in progress and wondered how I was going to get it finished in time but finished it is!  And with over a month to spare.

If you follow me on Instagram you will have seen updates on the progress of this blanket, this post is just for the finished article in all her glory.

I chose 9 shades of Stylecraft Special DK to make this blanket

  • Silver
  • Graphite
  • Grey
  • Gold
  • Mustard
  • Camel
  • Parchment
  • Duck Egg
  • Stone

IMG_2697

I picked the colours as I went along rather than choosing an order beforehand and while I did not keep count of the amount of each ball used the finished blanket weighs in at 1.6kg which equates to around 16 balls of yarn.  At 322 yards per ball that’s just under 3 miles of yarn!

fullsizeoutput_ac8

I used the pattern from the Spice of Life Crochet Along by Sandra Paul at Cherry Heart. The Crochet Along was almost 2 years ago now but the pattern remains free to access on the website linked above.

Looking at the dimensions of Sandra’s blanket I worked out that by doubling the width and working with a stitch count of 313 stitches I would be at the right width for a double bed. I repeated the pattern 3 times to get the length I needed and my finished blanket measured at almost square, 75 inches across and 74 inches long, just right to sit on a bed.

fullsizeoutput_ac7

I wasn’t keen on the border in the original pattern so I went with very basic stripes of my own.  Just one round of UK double crochet, followed by 3 rounds of UK trebles.

IMG_7504

And one final photo just because everything always looks better photographed outdoors 🙂

fullsizeoutput_ac9

7 thoughts on “Spice of Life

  1. Pingback: Close to You – I Am Branching Out

Leave a Reply

