Weekly Photo – Nature

One of the things I would like to work on in 2017 is my photography. I am joining in with Nana Cathy and Wild Daffodil’s weekly photo challenge.

This week’s one word prompt is Nature.


So many to choose from this week, such a large proportion of what I view to be beautiful and then point my camera at is based in nature.  I decided to go with the engineering marvel that is honeycomb.  I could look at it all day long, lost in the intricacies of the structure built by bees.

Two weeks ago I was fortunate to spend a day in the company of two passionate natural bee keepers who have shunned the ‘factory farming’ of bees practiced by many who keep bees in favour of a far less impactful, hands off approach. It was fascinating and I learned so much about bees. You can check out their website here.

They do not provide frames for bees to construct within, but use top bar hives which have narrow strips of timber across the top and then lots of space for the bees to build in free form shapes. This is a section of comb removed from one of their hives when the bees swarmed.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo – Nature

  1. Pingback: Photo Challenge Round-Up: April | Wild Daffodil

Leave a Reply

